The Aquaculture Stewardship Council (ASC) is an independent, international non-profit organization that has developed a certification programme for responsible aquaculture. ASC's mission is to transform aquaculture towards environmental sustainability and social responsibility using efficient market mechanisms that create value across the chain. The ASC uses market forces to transform aquaculture by reducing its key negative social and environmental impacts through compliance with standards at the farm level.

The ASC standards focus on reducing key environmental and social impact of fish farming. The standards were created by the Aquaculture Dialogues, an open and transparent initiative initiated and coordinated by WWF, with over 2,000 participants including farmers, seafood processors, retailers and foodservice operators, NGOs, government agencies and knowledge institutes. 

ASI manages the ASC Accreditation Program according to international standards and based on the specific requirements as defined in the document ‘ASC Farm Certification and Accreditation Requirements’.

Certifiers can apply for accreditation for the following standards: Pangasius, Tilapia, Abalone, Bivalves, Salmon, Trout, Serioala/Cobia and Shrimp.

A key benefit that ASC brings is the use of its logo to convey a good reputation and differentiate from others.

Read more on ASC in Sustainability Map a very detailed database on private standards- that covers:

  • Self-Assessment Tool
  • The Standards’ relevance for specific markets (regional and product filter)
  • The Standard’s Requirements

                Detailed by by dimension:

  • Environment
    • Forests
    • Inputs
    • Biodviversity
    • Waste
    • Water
    • Energy
  • Social
    • Human rights and Local Communities
    • Labour practices (employment)
    • Labour practices (human development and social dialogue
  • Economic
    • Economic viability
    • Supply chain responisbilities
  • Quality
    • Product / service quality management
    • Food management systems
  • Ethics  
    • Ethics and Integrity

- The Standards’ Implementation Process

  • Audit details
  • Conformity Assessment procedure
  • List of Verification and Certification bodies
  • Duration of audit
  • Frequency of surveillance audits